logo

VICTORIA MANN

AKAA (aka Known As Africa) is the first, and only, fair of contemporary art and design focused on Africa.  In Paris, at the Carreau du Temple, this event, welcoming some forty galleries from eighteen countries for its third edition, has become a major rendezvous of art and design.

A space of meetings and exchanges, which, from painting to sculpture, through design and performance presents a diversity of talents rarely seen in major international fairs of contemporary art.

Resonances, influences, dialogues;  the creativity of artists, confirmed or emerging, highlights the plurality of cultural, commercial or ideological links that connect Africa to other regions of the world. Meeting with Victoria Mann, founder of AKAA.

By Fanny Revault

What is your background?

Basically, I am an art historian. I started my career in the United States where I studied under the wing of a professor of history of African art who passed on to me his passion. I returned to France in 2010 where I did a master’s degree at the Louvre School.  A two-year work followed on a collection of paintings from Madagascar produced in the 20s. At the end of my studies, it seemed to me that a card was missing in my game, that of the art market. So I worked with the Pace Gallery in London for a year.  It was by exercising at home and studying the fairs that the idea of ​​AKAA emerged.

Can you come back to the genesis of AKAA?

I wanted to mount a project that promotes artists from contemporary scenes in Africa.  My first and natural idea was to open a gallery in Paris.  Nevertheless, it is by working with the gallery Pace, including this system of fairs, that I realized that it was not another gallery that had to be created in Paris, but a platform that did not exist.  not.  A platform that would have a more important and immediate impact on a wider community at a time T of the African cultural landscape, and above all, a platform that would unite around this continent to highlight the artists of these contemporary scenes,  while being careful not to stigmatize artists with this “Africa” ​​label.

What is AKAA’s ambition?

Since the beginning, our message has been to present artists related, in one way or another, to Africa. The geographical criterion does not really matter.  Rather, it is about inviting artists and art professionals who accompany them to participate in the fair when they have a claimed link with Africa, and because they have a story to tell about this continent.

What is the particularity of this third edition?

This edition allowed us to highlight this first ambition to recompose a map of contemporary art.  Rather than putting the United States and Europe in the center, as usual, we wanted to place Africa and observe all the axes, all the eyes crossed, all the bridges built between artists around the world.  .

How is AKAA positioned in the contemporary art market?

Regarding the fair, it is an evolving African contemporary art market, still fragile but stabilizing over the years.  We are just one of the components of this market working with all the other players in this ecosystem.  In addition, an evolving market evokes the possibility of a very interesting balance between established artists and emerging artists.

AKAA, a desire to present African creation in its plurality?

Indeed, it is very important to make visible the plurality, the diversity and the richness of these artists having the talent and the imagination to work all types of mediums, influences, subjects and tones in their work.  This realization at AKAA seems to us to be essential.  Personally, I do not like this partitioning between the arts;  every artist, whatever his field, draws his inspiration from the different artistic fields.

African art and African contemporary art. Which relations?

Indeed, the classical arts of Africa represent a very important wealth within the heritage of many countries on this continent, but one can exist with the other without necessarily depending on it.  Often, the border between classical and contemporary art in Africa is very fixed because we do not want to put them in the same basket.  There is also the imprint of a heavy and controversial colonial past.  Nevertheless, if we try to distance ourselves from these discourses and really talk about artists, contemporaries, influences;  it turns out that tradition and culture are a primary influence for a large number of artists.

What are the favorites of this third edition?

The first is about Susana Pilard who realized our monumental installation.  It is very important for me because it represents very precisely this crossroads of cultures, identities, views crossed between Africa and other regions of the world.

The second is perhaps, on historical and contemporary issues, the stand of Didier Claes and the exhibition of Kendell Geers, a South African artist who draws on traditional and historical Congolese influences.  His commitment to the fair fascinated me.  The stand he imagined has also made the “A” of many posts Instagram, press etc…

I would also like to mention my personal favorite, the Moroccan artist Yassine Balbzioui. His painting takes us into a somewhat crazy world of reveries, slightly disturbing but very intriguing.  We would like to enter but we are not sure. The fair allowed me to discover his watercolors before which I remained speechless, bringing me back into a world of dreams and childhood.

I will end by addressing this time a round table on the subject of the representation of bodies in the Muslim world of art.  Indeed, AKAA is also a cultural program.  The testimonials from this round table were really touching, constituting moments of intense sharing, as much for our stakeholders as for the public. We witnessed a real moment of tension that soothed the minds of all present by addressing unobvious topics.  This is important for me because this moment has illustrated this sincere connection that can be created between our audience and its actors, in the broad sense of these contemporary scenes.

logo

VICTORIA MANN

AKAA ( Also Known As Africa), est, en France, la première, et unique, foire d’art contemporain et de design axée sur l’Afrique. À Paris, au Carreau du Temple, cet évènement, accueillant une quarantaine de galeries provenant de dix-huit pays pour sa troisième édition, est devenu un rendez-vous majeur de l’art et du design. 

Un espace de rencontres et d’échanges, qui, de la peinture à la sculpture, en passant par le design et la performance présente une diversité de talents rarement observée dans les grandes foires internationales d’art contemporain. 

Résonances, influences, dialogues ; la créativité des artistes, confirmés ou émergents, met en évidence la pluralité des liens culturels, commerciaux ou idéologiques qui relient l’Afrique aux autres régions du monde. Rencontre avec Victoria Mann, fondatrice d’AKAA.

Par Fanny Revault


Quel est votre parcours ?

À la base, je suis historienne d’art. J’ai démarré mon parcours aux États-Unis où j’ai étudié sous l’aile d’un professeur d’histoire de l’art africain qui m’a transmis sa passion. Je suis rentrée en France en 2010 où j’ai effectué un master à l’école du Louvre. Un travail de deux ans s’en est suivi à propos d’une collection de peintures de Madagascar produite dans les années 20. À la fin de mes études, il me semblait qu’une carte manquait à mon jeu, celle du marché de l’art. J’ai donc travaillé avec la galerie Pace à Londres pendant un an. C’est en exerçant chez eux et en étudiant les foires qu’a émergé l’idée d’AKAA.

Pouvez-vous revenir sur la genèse d’AKAA ?

Je souhaitais monter un projet qui promeuve les artistes des scènes contemporaines d’Afrique. Mon idée première, et naturelle, était d’ouvrir une galerie à Paris. Néanmoins, c’est en travaillant avec la galerie Pace, en comprenant ce système des foires, que je me suis rendue compte que ce n’était pas une galerie de plus qu’il fallait créer à Paris, mais une plateforme qui n’existait pas. Une plateforme qui aurait un impact un peu plus important et immédiat sur une communauté plus large à un instant T du paysage culturel africain, et avant tout, une plateforme qui fédèrerait autour de ce continent afin de mettre en avant les artistes de ces scènes contemporaines, tout en faisait attention à ne pas stigmatiser les artistes avec cette étiquette « Afrique ».

Quelle est l’ambition d’AKAA ?

Depuis le départ, notre message a été de présenter des artistes liés, d’une manière ou d’une autre, à l’Afrique. Le critère géographique n’importe pas vraiment. Il s’agit plutôt d’inviter artistes et professionnels du monde l’art qui les accompagnent à participer à la foire lorsqu’ils ont un lien revendiqué avec l’Afrique, et parce qu’ils ont une histoire à raconter par rapport à ce continent.

Quelle est la particularité de cette troisième édition ?

Cette édition nous a permis de mettre en exergue cette ambition première de redessiner une carte de l’art contemporain. Plutôt que de mettre les États-Unis et l’Europe au centre, comme à l’accoutumée, nous souhaitions y placer l’Afrique et observer tous les axes, tous les regards croisés, toutes les passerelles se construisant entre les artistes du monde entier.

Comment AKAA se positionne dans le marché de l’art contemporain ?

Concernant la foire, il s’agit d’un marché de l’art contemporain africain en évolution, encore fragile mais qui se stabilise au fil des années. Nous sommes simplement l’un des composants de ce marché fonctionnant avec tous les autres acteurs appartenant à cet écosystème. En outre, un marché en pleine évolution évoque la possibilité d’un équilibre très intéressant entre artistes établis et artistes émergents.

AKAA, une volonté de présenter la création africaine dans sa pluralité ?

Effectivement, il est très important de rendre visible la pluralité, la diversité et la richesse de ces artistes ayant le talent et l’imagination de travailler tous types de médiums, d’influences, de sujets et de tonalités dans leur travail. Cette prise de conscience à AKAA nous paraît primordiale. Personnellement, je n’aime pas ce cloisonnement entre les arts ; tout artiste, peu importe son domaine, tire son inspiration des différents champs artistiques.

Art premiers africains et Art contemporain africain. Quelles relations ?

En effet, les arts classiques d’Afrique représentent une richesse très importante au sein du patrimoine de beaucoup de pays sur ce continent, mais l’un peut exister avec l’autre sans nécessairement en dépendre. Souvent, la frontière entre art classique et art contemporain en Afrique est très figée car nous ne voulons surtout pas les mettre dans le même panier. Il y a aussi l’empreinte d’un passé colonial lourd et polémique. Néanmoins, si l’on essaie de prendre de la distance face à ces  discours et de réellement parler d’artistes, de contemporains, d’influences ; il se trouve que la tradition et la culture sont une influence première pour un grand nombre d’artistes.

Quels sont les coups de cœur de cette troisième édition ?

Le premier concerne Susana Pilard qui a réalisé notre installation monumentale. Elle est très importante pour moi car elle représente très justement ce croisement de cultures, d’identités, de regards croisés entre l’Afrique et les autres régions du monde.

Le second est peut-être, en revenant sur les questions historiques et contemporaines, le stand de Didier Claes et l’exposition de Kendell Geers, artiste sud-africain qui puise dans les influences traditionnelles et historiques congolaises. Son engagement vers la foire m’a fascinée. Le stand qu’il  a imaginé a d’ailleurs fait la « Une » de beaucoup de posts Instagram, de presse ect...

J’aimerais aussi évoquer mon coup de cœur personnel, l’artiste marocain Yassine Balbzioui. Sa peinture nous emmène dans un monde quelque peu loufoque, de rêveries, légèrement dérangeant mais très intriguant. Nous souhaiterions y entrer mais nous ne sommes pas sûrs. La foire m’a permise de découvrir ses aquarelles devant lesquelles je suis restée bouche bée, me ramenant dans un monde de rêveries et d’enfance.

Je terminerais en abordant cette fois une table ronde sur le sujet de la représentation des corps dans les mondes musulmans artistiques. En effet, AKAA est également une programmation culturelle. Les témoignages issus de cette table ronde ont été réellement touchant, constituant des moments de partage intenses, autant pour nos intervenants que pour le public. Nous avons assisté à un véritable moment de tension qui apaisa l’esprit de toutes les personnes présentes en abordant des sujets peu évidents. Cela est primordial pour moi car ce moment a illustré cette connexion sincère que l’on peut créer entre notre public et ses acteurs, au sens très large de ces scènes contemporaines.