logo

CATHERINE STARKMAN

Catherine Starkman paints in an infinite freedom of expression … Her work reveals a singular artistic language shaped by an increased sensitivity to the world around her. The simplicity and the beauty of the forms, the vibrant research on the color underline the sharpness of his artistic look. Interview with a happy and passionate artist.

By Fanny Revault


Why painting?

I started painting very young. My dad who painted at his leisure time gave me a “box of colors” when I was three years old and painting was immediately a total spell. He died shortly after and I continued alone, at home, then in art classes. My infinite sorrow linked to his disappearance evaporated, I escaped into an unreal world. It was a breath of time. The painting represents my past, my present, my imagination. What brings painting is intense, an unlimited freedom to express oneself, to marry reflection and emotion to gesture.

Painting is a monologue, a particular and universal language like that of music or writing. It is a search in a world apart, a unique experience every day, an emotional maze that becomes a conversation with the viewer who will feel it and translate it with his own vocabulary, his differences, his convictions, his personality.

I offer to the eyes of people that I do not know my deepest secrets.

You started your artistic career by practicing photography. Has the medium of photography enriched your approach to painting?

Indeed, I turned professionally around the age of eighteen first to street photography. The sensations related to the magical moment when we capture this thousandth of a second that will transform it into an eternal moment are worthy of a thriller. I think that the shooting, the framing and the light are the three elements that influenced my way of positioning the characters in a painting.

Your work releases a certain freedom and sensitivity to colors. What are you trying to express through color?

The first time the color impressed me was watching a Matisse in a museum. I was speechless, carried away by the power of colors and I would like to share that kind of emotions. Color expresses my sensitivity and painting allows me to use it as a universal language that illustrates passion, beauty, boredom, sadness, disappointment, anger, harmony, pleasure, well-being, ecstasy, provocation, wisdom, love, seduction, sensuality, sexuality, masculine, feminine, dream, injustice, war, inner cries …

Figuration has an important place in your painting. Your characters have a strong presence. Are you looking for a harmony between abstraction and figuration? 

Yes, in fact it is a natural balance to move from one to the other because they are different energies and approaches and complement each other. It’s a bit like having masculine and feminine in oneself. The abstract is a deaf and powerful mysterious world, it is a mathematical architecture of colors and shapes that stick to each other, it is a dialogue with matter, light and color, while the figuration evokes a story, tells the story of the “human”, gives life to silhouettes and portraits.

You seem to favor large formats. Why this choice ? 

I work on different formats but it is true that I have a weakness for very large formats for the freedom of gesture at the start. A large format is enveloping, it allows to surrender and to be invaded. In the end, his presence is more impressive. I can feel small if I work in a small size, such as wearing too little clothing, and it’s frustrating to be limited. At the same time, a small format requires getting to the point.

You say that ” Painting is a fight and at the same time an extreme sweetness ” … 

In fact, a painting is a real adventure, and during its execution, one must go through trials or on the contrary be carried away by grace. There are times when you have to struggle to get what you are looking for, to lose your footing where it is dark and painful, and then there are those times when the painting is disarmingly easy. In general, these are paintings that work like that from the first brushstroke and we feel a diffuse happiness, a form of satisfaction, happiness, balance of harmony. It is impossible to know in advance how this will happen. It’s a bit like a romantic relationship.

When does magic occur in you, the moment of creation when you make a painting?

I will say that it is when I am so intensely absorbed by my painting that I no longer feel my body or my brain and that I disappear completely under its influence. And I only realize it when I come back.

For you, what is a masterpiece? 

It is a love at first sight with a work of art that will mark us for life, the totally subjective perfection that fills us as well in aesthetics as in emotion, representation and concept.

Why do you think art is important in our lives? 

Art brings a different taste to life. It transforms reality or exacerbates it, it invents, it reveals, transports, provokes, moves, revolts, denounces, questions, teaches, dialogue, comforts, communicates, trouble, amuses, explains, illustrates. It’s beauty, ugliness, love, imagination, dream, travel, history, politics, it’s the mark of our journey on earth. It’s the other in all areas. It’s a way to get to know each other better, to meet again, to go beyond, to open up.

A word about your last exhibition? 

I am extremely pleased to have three exhibitions at the moment. Each in different directories.
The first is at the Yoshii Gallery, Avenue Matignon in Paris until July 13th. Mr Yoshii chose to show my abstract paintings. I present some fifteen works in an installation of great beauty.
The second is called “Roman photo”, an exhibition of which I am part and which traces the history of the Roman photo from its beginnings to the present day. I was, in fact, the photographer Coluche for the novel photo “The poor are idiots” he had created and which appeared weekly in Charlie Hebdo. This exhibition, initially presented at Mucem in Marseille by Marie Charlotte Calafat and Frédérique Deschamps, has just started at the Museum of Photography in Charleroi, Belgium.
Finally, the third is in Aix-en-Provence in the beautiful Art Center, Gallifet where Nicolas Mazet and Kate Davis exhibit my works of African inspiration until September 30. Except for a large oil painting of 1999, these are my last great portraits and silhouettes on paper.

So I’m delighted…

logo

CATHERINE STARKMAN

Par Fanny Revault

Catherine Starkman peint dans une liberté d’expression infinie… Son œuvre dévoile un langage artistique singulier façonné par une sensibilité accrue sur le monde qui l’entoure. La simplicité et la beauté des formes, la recherche vibrante sur la couleur soulignent l’acuité de son regard artistique. Entretien avec une artiste heureuse et passionnée.

Pourquoi la peinture ? 

J’ai commencé la peinture très jeune. Mon père qui peignait à ses moments de loisir m’a offert une « boîte de couleurs » quand j’avais trois ans et peindre a été immédiatement un total envoûtement. Il est mort peu de temps après et j’ai continué seule, chez moi, puis dans des classes d’art. Mon infini chagrin lié à sa disparition s’évaporait, je m’évadais dans un monde irréel. C’était une respiration hors du temps. La peinture représente mon passé, mon présent, mon imaginaire. Ce qu’apporte la peinture est intense, une liberté illimitée de s’exprimer, de marier la réflexion et l’émotion au geste.

La peinture est un monologue, un langage particulier et universel comme celui de la musique ou de l’écriture. C’est une recherche dans un monde à part, une expérience chaque jour unique, un dédale émotionnel qui devient une conversation avec le spectateur qui va la ressentir et la traduire avec son propre vocabulaire, ses différences, ses convictions, sa personnalité.

J’offre au regard des gens que je ne connais pas mes secrets les plus profonds.

Vous avez commencé votre carrière artistique en exerçant le métier de photographe. Le médium de la photographie a t-il enrichi votre approche de la peinture ?

En effet, je me suis dirigée professionnellement vers l’âge de dix-huit ans tout d’abord vers la photographie de rue. Les sensations liées à l’instant magique où l’on capture ce millième de seconde qui va le transformer en un moment éternel sont dignes d’un thriller. Je pense que la prise de vue, le cadrage et la lumière sont les trois éléments qui ont influencé ma façon de positionner les personnages dans un tableau.

Votre œuvre dégage une certaine liberté et sensibilité aux couleurs. Que cherchez-vous à exprimer à travers la couleur ?

La première fois que la couleur m’a impressionné, c’est en regardant un Matisse dans un musée. J’étais sans voix, emportée par la puissance des couleurs et je souhaiterais partager ce genre d’émotions. La couleur exprime ma sensibilité et la peinture me permet de l’utiliser comme un langage universel qui illustre la passion, la beauté, l’ennui, la tristesse, la déception, la colère, l’harmonie, le plaisir, le bien être, l’extase, la provocation, la sagesse, l’amour, la séduction, la sensualité, la sexualité, le masculin, le féminin, le rêve, l’injustice, la guerre, les cris intérieurs…

La figuration a une place importante dans votre peinture. Vos personnages ont une forte présence. Recherchez-vous une harmonie entre abstraction et figuration ? 

Oui, en fait c’est un équilibre naturel de passer de l’un à l’autre car ce sont des énergies et des démarches différentes et qui se complètent. C’est un peu comme le fait d’avoir du masculin et du féminin en soi. L’abstrait est un monde mystérieux, sourd et puissant. C’est une architecture mathématique de couleurs et de formes qui se collent les unes aux autres, c’est un dialogue avec la matière, la lumière et la couleur, tandis que la figuration évoque une histoire, raconte la présence de « l’humain », donne vie à des silhouettes et des portraits.

Vous semblez privilégier les grands formats. Pourquoi ce choix ? 

Je travaille sur différents formats, mais il est vrai que j’ai une faiblesse pour les très grands formats, pour la liberté de geste au départ. Un grand format est enveloppant, il permet de s’abandonner et de se laisser envahir. Au final, sa présence est plus impressionnante. Je peux me sentir étriquée si je travaille sur un petit format comme porter un vêtement trop petit et c’est frustrant d’être limitée. En même temps, un petit format exige d’aller à l’essentiel.

Vous dites que « Peindre, c’est un combat et en même temps une douceur extrême »… 

En fait, un tableau est une véritable aventure, et pendant son exécution, il faut passer par des épreuves ou au contraire se laisser porter par la grâce. Il y a des moments où il faut véritablement lutter pour obtenir ce que l’on cherche, où on perd pied, où c’est obscur et douloureux. Et puis il existe des moments où le tableau est d’une facilité désarmante. En général, ce sont des tableaux qui fonctionnent comme ça dès le premier coup de pinceau et on ressent un bonheur diffus, une forme de satisfaction, de félicité, d’équilibre d’harmonie. Il est impossible de savoir à l’avance comment cela va se passer. C’est un peu comme une relation amoureuse.

À quel moment s’opère en vous la magie, l’instant de création lorsque vous réalisez une peinture ?

Je dirais que c’est lorsque je suis si intensément absorbée par mon tableau que je ne ressens plus mon corps ou mon cerveau et que je disparais complètement sous son emprise. Et je ne m’en rends compte que lorsque je refais surface.

Pour vous, qu’est-ce qu’un chef-d’œuvre ? 

C’est un coup de foudre avec une œuvre d’art qui nous marquera à vie, la perfection totalement subjective qui nous comble aussi bien dans l’esthétique que dans l’émotion, la représentation et le concept.

Selon vous, pourquoi l’art est-il important dans nos vies ? 

L’art apporte un goût différent de la vie. Il transforme la réalité ou l’exacerbe, il invente, révèle, transporte, provoque, émeut, révolte, dénonce, interroge, enseigne, dialogue, réconforte, communique, trouble, amuse, explique, illustre. C’est la beauté, la laideur, l’amour, l’imaginaire, le rêve, le voyage, l’histoire, la politique. C’est la marque de notre passage sur terre. C’est l’autre dans tous les domaines. C’est un moyen de mieux se connaître, de se retrouver, de se dépasser, de s’ouvrir.

Un mot sur votre dernière exposition ? 

J’ai l’extrême plaisir d’avoir trois expositions en ce moment. Chacune dans des répertoires différents.
La première se trouve à la Galerie Yoshii, avenue Matignon à Paris jusqu’au 13 Juillet. Mr Yoshii a choisi de montrer mes tableaux abstraits. Je présente une quinzaine d’œuvres dans une installation d’une grande beauté.
La deuxième s’appelle « Roman photo », une exposition dont je fais partie et qui retrace l’histoire du Roman photo, de ses débuts jusqu’à nos jours. J’ai, en effet, été la photographe de Coluche pour le Roman photo Les pauvres sont des cons qu’il avait créé et qui paraissait toutes les semaines dans Charlie Hebdo. Cette exposition, initialement présentée au Mucem à Marseille par Marie Charlotte Calafat et Frédérique Deschamps, vient de commencer désormais au Musée de la photographie à Charleroi, en Belgique.
Enfin, la troisième se trouve à Aix-en-Provence dans le magnifique Centre d’art, Gallifet où Nicolas Mazet et Kate Davis exposent mes œuvres d’inspiration africaine jusqu’au 30 Septembre. Excepté un grand tableau à l’huile de 1999, ce sont mes derniers grands portraits et silhouettes sur papier.

Donc je suis comblée.