Portrait de Jim Dine
Portrait de Jim Dine

Jim Dine

Plasticians

https://www.artinterview.com/en/interviews/jim-dine/

Jim Dine is a major artist on the American art scene. He continues to fascinate at the age of 85, while never ceasing to pursue his pictorial questions. As a pioneer of Happenings and abstract expressionism, Jim Dine transcends twentieth century art and positions himself as a decidedly contemporary artist, whose work is prolific and disturbing in equal measure, while escaping all classification. In his latest show A Day Longer, heldat the Templon gallery, he displays vibrant energy in color and material. In the exhibition, which was partly produced during lockdown, the artist‘s work is powerfully intimate and full of contrasts. It is violent yet tender, structured yet chaotic, prophetic yet introspective, poetic yet pictorial. In this interview, the indefatigable American artist talks of his creation which is born from the subconscious and his intuition, as well as his desire to touch the human soul. 

How did your passion for art come about?

I was born with it, I knew from the age of 5 that I wanted to be an artist. For as long as I can remember, that’s all I ever wanted to do. It’s my life.

Improvisation is at the heart of your artistic process. Your last exhibition appears to have a slightly freer and daring touch. What prompted you to revisit your work?

There’s two sculptures included and they’re a new departure for me about how to work. I built the sculptures on the floor, face down. Then, piece by piece, we took them apart, took them to the foundry and cast each piece. Then, at the foundry, I redid the sculptures. I invented them by holding them there and then we’d weld a piece. It was a collage method for me, it was a big discovery, another very lively way to work and I will do more of that.

I trust my instincts, I go on my nerve, I try things before I necessarily have worked them out conceptually. I let my hand do the thinking much of the time and that’s intuition. I create everyday, it is a gift.

In your paintings, prophetic characters (such as the “Prophet in the Storm” or “Twisted Lyre”) interact with poetry and humor (“Red Laughing”, “The Tongue”). What do you wish to express with this binary drive, this oscillation between, worry and happiness, violence and tenderness?

I don’t think I have a violent relationship to the material. I think that my life as a workman / artist informs how I build a painting and that means: tear it off, put it back another way, tear it off again, move it to the side. I don’t consider that violent, I consider it efficacious and I do what’s necessary to make a painting work.

And titles have always served as objects for me, an opportunity to add another dimension to the work.

Jim DINE – Prophet in the Storm & Red Laughing – Vue de l’exposition – A Day Longer – Credit : Nicolas Brasseur – © Courtesy Templon, Paris – Brussels

Does Me, the series of self-portraits pursue an intense study on yourself, existence and time?

I have been drawing and painting myself for decades, it has always been a study of me and my unconscious.

The self-portraits series freed from physical likeness, and Prophet in the Storm, which you define as a “still-life transformed into a figure”, both appear to move away from the subject to reveal something different. Is there a desire on your part to erase the subject in order to further question the painting itself?

No, I think the paintings look like me, the subject is there, present.  These paintings were an opportunity for me to work in oil again, so their materiality is very real.

Rules of the Forest, four acrylic panels on wood, stand like headstones, At Dunkirk 1 & 2 resemble totems, At Night I Ride, shows faces emerging from the canvas like tribal masks; several works denote a primitive world. Is there a desire on your part to return to a form of archaism so as to better question the world?

My desire has always been to make the work, put down a mark and react, correct it, and start again.  The surprise and discovery of my left hand. The paintings are never within my grasp: they are always elusive. Paintings are mysterious objects and they have a life of their own… you have to harness it. It’s like the wind.

The title of the exhibition, A Day Longer, is also the title of the poetry book, a kind of book-object with a voice. To what extent does poetry nourish your pictorial approach?

A Day Longer was born after my exhibition at the Centre Pompidou in 2018.  What was important to me was to show in a physical form the relation that the poems, the act of writing and correcting, have to the paintings and sculpture.  The relationship is symbiotic, the poetry stems from the paintings and the paintings inform the poetry, the whole born from my unconscious.

There is a fruitful dialogue between both art forms; both words and color convey emotion and one accompanies the other. But what is it that differentiates the practice of painting from that of poetry in terms of the creative process?

My method is one of correction, both in the paintings and the poetry.  I make no distinction between the two.  In the studio I work on both, not simultaneously, but they feed each other and benefit from each other’s presence.

How do you regard your career?

I am grateful to have had the opportunity to make my work.

You always work tirelessly, with both pleasure persistance. What are your dreams now?

My dreams now are to stay healthy and after the three years spent making these paintings I have the desire now to immerse myself in a new group of sculpture.  I am in the process of re-organizing my studio to start work on some new bronzes.

The idea of creating, it’s the blood that runs through your veins. And I have an ambition to carry that on, to be part of human history of enriching people’s soul.

Vue de l’exposition – A Day Longer – Credit : Nicolas Brasseur

The poetry stems from the paintings and the paintings inform the poetry, the whole born from my unconscious.

Jim Dine

Portrait de Jim Dine
Portrait de Jim Dine

Jim Dine

Peinture

https://www.artinterview.com/interviews/jim-dine/

Artiste majeur de l’art contemporain américain, Jim Dine continue de fasciner à l’âge de 85 ans en poursuivant sa recherche picturale aussi loin que possible. Pionnier des Happenings et de l’expressionnisme abstrait, Jim Dine dépasse pourtant l’art du XXe siècle pour se placer résolument comme un artiste de notre temps, foisonnant et inquiétant, dont l’œuvre échappe à toute classification. Dans sa dernière exposition A Day Longer à la galerie Templon, il déploie une énergie vibrante en couleurs et matière. Réalisée en partie pendant le confinement, l’artiste nous livre une œuvre puissamment intime et pleine de contrastes : violente et tendre, structurée et chaotique, prophétique et introspective, poétique et picturale. Entretien avec l’infatigable artiste américain dont la création née de l’inconscient, de l’intuition et sa volonté de toucher l’âme humaine.

Comment est née votre passion pour l’art ?

Je suis né avec, je savais dès l’âge de cinq ans que je voulais être artiste. Aussi loin que je me souvienne, c’est la seule chose que j’ai toujours voulu faire. C’est ma vie.

Le processus d’improvisation est au cœur de votre pratique artistique. Un geste plus libre et audacieux caractérise votre dernière exposition. Qu’est-ce qui vous a conduit à revisiter votre travail ?

Il y a deux sculptures qui incarnent un nouveau départ pour moi quant à ma méthode de travail. J’ai créé les sculptures à même le sol, face cachée. Puis, nous les avons démontées pièce par pièce, avant de les emmener à la fonderie pour les couler. Ensuite, à la fonderie, j’ai recomposé les sculptures. Je les ai réinventées en les plaçant debout avant d’ajouter des éléments en soudure. C’était comme un collage pour moi : une grande découverte, une nouvelle manière extrêmement vivante de travailler, que je vais continuer d’expérimenter.

Je fais confiance à mon instinct. J’ose, je tente des choses avant même de les avoir assimilées à un niveau conceptuel. Je laisse ma main réfléchir la plupart du temps : c’est ça l’intuition. Je crée chaque jour, c’est un cadeau.

Vos toiles aux personnages prophétiques (Prophet in the Storm, Twisted Lyre) voisinent aux côtés d’œuvres empreintes de poésie et d’humour (Red Laughing, The Tongue). Entre inquiétude et bonheur, violence et tendresse, que voulez-vous exprimer par cette pulsion dichotomique ?

Je ne pense pas que ma relation au matériau soit violente. Je pense que ma vie de travailleur-artiste façonne la manière dont je conçois un tableau, à savoir : arracher un morceau, le positionner différemment, déchirer encore un élément puis le déplacer sur le côté… Je ne trouve pas cela violent mais plutôt efficace. Je fais ce qu’il faut pour faire fonctionner le tableau.

Et les titres ont toujours servi d’objets dans mon travail. Ils m’offrent l’occasion d’ajouter une autre dimension à l’œuvre.

Jim DINE – Prophet in the Storm & Red Laughing – Vue de l’exposition – A Day Longer – Credit : Nicolas Brasseur – © Courtesy Templon, Paris – Brussels

Me, la série d’autoportraits poursuit-elle une réflexion intense sur le moi, l’existence et le temps ?

Je me dessine et me peins moi-même depuis des décennies. Il s’agit depuis toujours d’une étude de moi-même et de mon inconscient.

Votre série d’autoportraits affranchie de toutes ressemblance et Prophet in the Storm que vous définissez comme une « nature morte transformée en figure », s’éloignent du sujet pour révéler autre chose. Y-a-t-il dans votre travail une volonté d’effacer le sujet au profit du questionnement pictural ?

Non, je pense que les tableaux me ressemblent, le sujet demeure est présent. Ces toiles ont été l’occasion pour moi de travailler à nouveau à l’huile, leur matérialité est donc bien réelle.

Rules of the Forest, quatre acryliques en bois se dressent comme des stèles, At Dunkerque 1 & 2, deux sculptures ont l’allure de totems, At Night I Ride, des visages surgissent de la toile tels des masques tribaux ; plusieurs œuvres dénotent un monde primitif. Y-a-t-il une volonté de revenir à une sorte d’archaïsme pour mieux questionner le monde ?

Mon désir a toujours été d’exécuter l’œuvre, de la marquer, de réagir, la corriger et recommencer. La surprise et la découverte de ma main gauche. Les peintures m’échappent en permanence : elles sont insaisissables. Les tableaux sont des objets mystérieux qui ont une vie propre… il faut canaliser leur énergie, un peu comme le vent.

Le titre de l’exposition A Day Longer est également le titre du livre de poésie que vous avez récemment publié, une sorte d’objet-livre-voix. Comment la poésie nourrit-elle votre approche picturale ?

A Day Longer est né après mon exposition au Centre Pompidou en 2018. Ce qui m’importait était de représenter, sous une forme physique, le rapport qu’entretiennent les poèmes, l’acte d’écriture et de correction, avec la peinture et la sculpture. La relation est symbiotique : la poésie découle des peintures tandis que les peintures enrichissent la poésie, le tout étant le fruit de mon inconscient.

Il y a un dialogue fécond entre les deux arts ; le mot comme la couleur sont des vecteurs d’émotion et l’un accompagne l’autre. Mais qu’est-ce qui différencie la pratique de la peinture de celle de la poésie dans son processus de création ?

Ma méthode est la correction, aussi bien pour les peintures que pour la poésie. Je ne fais aucune distinction entre les deux. En atelier, je travaille les deux, non pas simultanément, mais ils se nourrissent et s’enrichissent mutuellement.

Quel regard portez-vous sur votre carrière ?

Je suis reconnaissant d’avoir eu l’opportunité de créer mon travail.

Vous travaillez toujours sans relâche, avec plaisir et acharnement. De quoi rêvez-vous à présent ?

J’aspire aujourd’hui à rester en bonne santé et, après les trois années passées à réaliser ces peintures, j’ai maintenant l’envie de me lancer dans un nouveau groupe de sculpture. Je suis en train de réorganiser mon atelier pour commencer à travailler sur de nouveaux bronzes.

L’idée de création, c’est le sang qui coule dans les veines. Et j’ambitionne de poursuivre cette participation à l’histoire humaine consistant à enrichir l’âme des gens.

Vue de l’exposition – A Day Longer – Credit : Nicolas Brasseur

La poésie découle des peintures tandis que les peintures enrichissent la poésie, le tout étant le fruit de mon inconscient.

Jim Dine